Mrs Barbara Auty is the Chair of Governors and also the Child Protection Governor.  Barbara’s professional life involves working in Human Resources Management and was a senior manager in a national children’s charity.  As a parent of young people with special educational needs, Barbara has a great deal of understanding in this field and sits on SENDIST tribunals.  Barbara chairs the Governors’ Care and Human Resources and Teaching and Learning committees.

Reverend David Arblaster is a foundation governor and the Governor responsible for Safeguarding. David is a deacon in St Aeldred’s Church, Harrogate and works with the parish priest to support the spiritual and pastoral care of his parishioners.  He was the director of student services at Leeds Met University for 9 years until his recent early retirement. David is a member of the Human Resources and Care committee.

Mr Terry Forbes is a foundation governor.  Terry ran his own successful business for many years and is a Trustee of the Diocese of Leeds.  Terry is a member of the Governors’ Finance Committee and is our link with senior officials at the Diocese.

Mr Vince McNicholas is a foundation governor.  Vince is a member of the Teaching and Learning committee.

Mrs Jill Tarr is a foundation governor.

Mr Geoff Riley is a parent governor.  His commitment to our school is rooted in his experience of having a daughter who attended St John’s.  Geoff was a senior lecturer in a very large FE college before taking early retirement.  He is a member of the Curriculum Committee and Health and Safety Committee.

Mrs Mary McAleer is a teacher governor.  Mary is a teacher at St John’s and is a member of the Teaching and Learning Committee.

Mrs Norma Harrington is a Local Authority Governor

Mrs Jackie Peacock is a staff governor.  Jackie works in the school office. She prepares and distributes the termly newsletter and manages correspondence with parents and LAs. Jackie is a member of the Premises, Grounds and Health & Safety committee.

Mrs Clare Brooks is a Foundation Governor 

Foundation Governor – VACANCY

How to contact the Governing Body

We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents, carers and the wider school community. Please contact the Chair of Governors, Mrs Barbara Auty

The Governors produce a report which shows the structure and the remit of the governing body and any committees and summarises their activity each year – the report for 2017/2018 can be found here:

Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body May 2018

The record of Governors business and pecuniary interests can be found here :

Record of Pecuniary Interests September 2017

Governing Body Meeting Dates 2018 2019